EP Review: Moon Harbour 100

Artist (s): Various Artists
Title: Moon Harbour 100
Label: Moon Harbour
Catalogue Number: MHR100
Release Date: April 12th, 2017

1). Matthias Tanzmann – Mahoney Baloney
2). Dan Drastic & Sven Tasnadi – Tastic
3). Luna City Express – Saturday
4). Daniel Stefanik – Resurrection

17 years after its creation in 2000, the Leipzig label has hit its 100th release and they have done it in style. André Quaas and Matthias Tanzmann’s label have actually put out roughly 150 EPs, albums and compilations but this 100th vinyl release is a special family affair for the label. Moon Harbour 100 features key artists Dan Drastic, Sven Tasnadi, Luna City Express, Daniel Stefanik and Matthias Tanzmann himself.

First up is the man who started it all, Matthias Tanzmann. “Mahoney Baloney” is 7 minutes of teasing tech house. Bubbly synth sounds percolate through the dry hollow drums while spoken word vocals add freakiness as it echoes throughout. The warm and rubbery bass ties everything together. Overall another bomb, something we have come to expect from the captain.

Label manager Dan Drastic and his usual sparring partner Sven Tasnadi come together once again for their joint effort, “Tastic”. A deep but cavernous track that features smooth vocals and warm colorful chords that sooth the soul. It is a playful and smartly incendiary track that constantly builds throughout and leaves us with another dance floor banger.

Label mainstays Luna City Express then offer their services for the third track, “Saturday”. A hard hitting track that features vamping synths, frazzled pads and discordant stabs that bring a real wavy feel to the rooted kick drums. A high energy cut that will definitely keep the crowd on its toes for its twisting duration.

The project concludes with the master of intricacy Daniel Stefanik’s “Resurrection”. Restless and bouncy killer drum loops and skewed chords fuel the track, while nicely coiled drums bring a real sense of house funk to the EP. You will be sure to get swept up in this fine tune.

With these 4 very different yet vital cuts, Moon Harbour encapsulates what has made the label so important over the last 100 releases. The German label has helped make the careers of many artists, discovered new talents and showcased underground heroes at the same time. Moon Harbour confirms that while they have grown up they are still young at heart.

Congratulations to Moon Harbour on their impressive milestone release. You can purchase the EP HERE and you can preview the project below.